The 2015 Cardinal Blogger Awards

by Cardinal70 on November 7, 2015

For the ninth straight year, the United Cardinal Bloggers are proud to present the Cardinal Blogger Awards. The various members of the UCB will be posting their selections on their blogs over the next couple of weeks, but the last few years we’ve given you, our readers and followers, a chance to let your voice be heard as well.

Below is the ballot for this year’s awards, complete with links where appropriate. We encourage you to cast ballots with care and forethought. Read the posts nominated for post of the year. Maybe sample some of the podcasts. The on-field stuff should be easy, but the blogging portion might take a bit more time.

No questions are required, though. If you’d like to skip around and just answer certain ones, that’s fine, though we’d of course like your opinions on everything. You can cast your vote here until Friday, November 20. Expect the awards to be announced on a special UCB Radio on November 25.

Again, the LINK TO THE FORM.

1. Cardinal Player of the Year
–Matt Carpenter
–Jason Heyward
–Jhonny Peralta
–Stephen Piscotty
–Write-in: _______________

2. Cardinal Pitcher of the Year
–Jaime Garcia
–John Lackey
–Carlos Martinez
–Trevor Rosenthal
–Write-in: _______________

3. Cardinal Game of the Year
May 31 vs. LAD (Martinez pitches on Oscar Taveras Day)
July 8 vs. CHC (Peralta game-winning home run)
August 31 vs. WAS (five-run rally)
September 9 vs. CHC (Piscotty caps late rally)
September 20 vs. CHC (Heyward throws out Rizzo at home)
September 28 vs. PIT (Scoreless until 9th with division on line)
–Write-in: ___________________

4. Surprise Cardinal Player of the Year
John Lackey
–Stephen Piscotty
–Trevor Rosenthal
–Write-in: ______________

5. Disappointing Cardinal Player of the Year
Peter Bourjos
–Jon Jay
–Brandon Moss
–Write-in: _______________

6. Cardinal Rookie of the Year
–Mitch Harris
–Tommy Pham
–Stephen Piscotty
–Write-in: ______________

7. Cardinal Acquisition of the Year
–Jonathan Broxton
–Steve Cishek
–Jason Heyward
–Brandon Moss
–Write-in: ______________

8. Most Anticipated Cardinal
–Anthony Garcia
–Michael Ohlman
–Alex Reyes
–Luke Weaver
–Write-in: _______________

9. Biggest Cardinal Injury
–Matt Adams
–Matt Holliday
–Carlos Martinez
–Adam Wainwright
–Write-in: ____________________

10. Best Cardinal Blog, One Writer
–Write-in: ____________________

11. Best Cardinal Blog, Two or More Writers
–Write-in: ____________________

12. Best Cardinal Media Coverage
–Derrick Goold
–Jenifer Langosch
–Bernie Miklasz
–Rob Rains
–Write-in: ______________

13. Best Rookie Cardinal Blog
Me and Willie McGee
The Redbird Retreat
–Write-in: ___________________

14. Post of the Year
Are the Cardinals Supposed to be Scared? (Kevin Reynolds,
Talking Twitter with the Cards (Daniel Shoptaw, C70 At The Bat)
In Defense of Mike Matheny (Dan Buffa, KSDK)
Carlos Martinez, Human Tsunami (Josey Curtis, The Redbird Retreat)
Why Billy Southworth Managed Cardinals with Heavy Heart (Mark Tomasik, RetroSimba)
–Write-in: ______________________

15. Best UCB Podcast
Best Dans in Baseball
Bird Seeds (video)
Conversations With C70
Gateway To Baseball Heaven
STL CardGals
Talking About Birds
UCB Radio Hour
–Write-in: _____________

16. Best Non-UCB Podcast
Best Podcast in Baseball
Cubs Cards Cast
St. Louis Cardinals Extras (
–Viva El Birdos
–Write-in: _____________

17. Best Podcaster (not best show, best actual podcaster)
–Write-in: _____________

18. Best Twitterer
–Write-in: _____________


{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment


{ 3 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post: